facebook pixel

ضرائب المغتربين الأمريكية في هونغ كونغ

التزامات ضريبة الدخل الفيدرالية الأمريكية للمغتربين الأمريكيين الذين يعيشون / يعملون في هونغ كونغ)

الأساسيات - هونغ كونغ

هونغ كونغ رسميًا منطقة هونغ كونغ الإدارية الخاصة لجمهورية الصين الشعبية (HKSAR) ، هي منطقة حضرية ومنطقة إدارية خاصة لجمهورية الصين الشعبية على دلتا نهر اللؤلؤ الشرقي في بحر الصين الجنوبي.

أصبحت هونغ كونغ مستعمرة للإمبراطورية البريطانية بعد أن تنازلت إمبراطورية تشينغ عن جزيرة هونغ كونغ في نهاية حرب الأفيون الأولى في عام 1842. توسعت المستعمرة إلى شبه جزيرة كولون في عام 1860 بعد حرب الأفيون الثانية وتم توسيعها أكثر عندما حصلت بريطانيا على عقد إيجار للأراضي الجديدة لمدة 99 عامًا في عام 1898. في لحظة تاريخية غير مؤكدة إلى حد ما ، تم إعادة المنطقة بأكملها إلى ما يُعرف الآن بالصين في عام 1997.

اعتبارًا من عام 1997 ، وهي منطقة إدارية خاصة ، تحتفظ هونغ كونغ بأنظمة حوكمة واقتصادية منفصلة عن تلك الموجودة في الصين القارية بموجب مبدأ "دولة واحدة ونظامان".

مع ظهور الحركة المؤيدة للديمقراطية الأخيرة في هونغ كونغ في عام 2019 ، والرد الصيني من خلال قانون الأمن القومي للهيئة التشريعية الصينية المثير للجدل الذي تمت الموافقة عليه في 28 مايو 2020 ، وافق المجلس الوطني لنواب الشعب أو المجلس الوطني لنواب الشعب الصيني على القرار الذي يحظر الخلافة ، تخريب سلطة الدولة ، والإرهاب ، والتدخل الأجنبي ، والسماح لوكالات أمن الدولة في البر الرئيسي للصين بالعمل داخل هونغ كونغ.

من الناحية الفعلية ، أصبحت هونغ كونغ الآن تحت السيطرة الصينية بشكل كامل وكامل ، وتوفي مفهوم نظام دولة واحدة. كان لهذا تأثير مدمر على السياحة ونظام التمويل في هونغ كونغ. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، بالطبع ، تضاءلت مكانة هونغ كونغ العالمية والشؤون الخارجية بشدة ، مع إدراك الدول والشركات الديمقراطية الكبرى للتحديات التي ستواجه هونغ كونغ في المستقبل ، وللأسف ، بدأ العديد من الأشخاص والشركات الانسحاب من هونغ كونغ.

قبل أن تؤكد الصين سيطرتها ، كانت هونغ كونغ الأكثر تذكرًا واحدة من أهم المراكز المالية والموانئ التجارية في العالم. إنها عاشر أكبر مصدر في العالم وتاسع أكبر مستورد. تتمتع هونغ كونغ باقتصاد خدمة رأسمالي رئيسي يتميز بانخفاض الضرائب والتجارة الحرة ، وعملتها ، دولار هونج كونج ، هي ثامن أكثر العملات تداولاً في العالم. هونغ كونغ هي موطن لثاني أكبر عدد من المليارديرات في أي مدينة في العالم ، وأكبر عدد من المليارديرات في أي مدينة في آسيا ، وأكبر تجمع للأفراد أصحاب الثروات الفائقة في أي مدينة في العالم. تتمتع المدينة بواحد من أعلى معدلات دخل الفرد في العالم ، ويوجد تفاوت حاد في الدخل بين سكانها ، والآن فقط يغضب من هروب الأثرياء.

الولايات المتحدة وهونغ كونغ. مشاركة اللغة الإنجليزية كلغات مشتركة مع تحدث هونج كونج رسميًا بالصينية والإنجليزية. هونغ كونغ هي منطقة عالية التطور وتحتل المرتبة الرابعة على مؤشر التنمية البشرية للأمم المتحدة. يوجد بالمدينة أكبر عدد من ناطحات السحاب في أي مدينة في العالم ، ويتمتع سكانها ببعض من أعلى معدلات العمر المتوقع في العالم. أدت المساحة الكثيفة إلى شبكة مواصلات متطورة تجاوزت معدلات النقل العام فيها 90 بالمائة. تحتل هونغ كونغ المرتبة الخامسة في مؤشر المراكز المالية العالمية وتحتل المرتبة الثالثة في آسيا بعد شنغهاي وطوكيو.

تبلغ مساحة هونغ كونغ 1,064 ميلا مربعا وهي الدولة رقم 168 في العالم من حيث المساحة ، ويبلغ عدد سكانها 7,500,700 نسمة وناتج محلي إجمالي يبلغ 439,459 مليار دولار أمريكي. عملة هونغ كونغ هي دولار هونج كونج ، والمنطقة الزمنية لهونغ كونغ هي +8 UTC ، ورمز الاتصال الهاتفي لبلد هونغ كونغ هو +852 ، و TLD للإنترنت هو ".hk" ويعمل على شبكة كهربائية بجهد 232 فولت.

ذات مرة تشترك الولايات المتحدة وهونغ كونغ في حب قوي للغاية للرأسمالية والديمقراطية ، مع هذا الانهيار القادم ، لم تعد هونغ كونغ مكانًا يحلم به المغتربون الأمريكيون للإقامة والعمل. بصفتك مواطنًا أمريكيًا أو أجنبيًا مقيمًا (مغتربًا أمريكيًا) يعيش في هونغ كونغ ، هناك دائمًا إمكانية "ضريبة الدخل المزدوجة" ، أي الاضطرار إلى دفع ضرائب لكل من هونغ كونغ والولايات المتحدة على نفس الدخل الذي كسبته في هونج كونج. الخبر السار هو أن هناك قواعد معمول بها لتجنب الازدواج الضريبي.

من المهم معرفة التزاماتك كمغترب في الولايات المتحدة. ومع ذلك ، فإن قواعد قانون الإيرادات الداخلية (IRC) معقدة للغاية ، وعلى الرغم من أن هذه نظرة عامة مبسطة وواسعة لتعريفك بالتزامات التقديم الخاصة بك وكيفية تجنب الازدواج الضريبي ، يجب عليك استشارة محاسب عام معتمد (CPA) في ضريبة الدخل على المغتربين في الولايات المتحدة لمعرفة المزيد. تعتبر ضرائب الدخل على المغتربين في الولايات المتحدة مجالًا متخصصًا شديد التعقيد للضرائب لا يعرفه معظم خبراء سلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة.

الالتزامات الضريبية الأمريكية على الوافدين الأمريكيين الذين يعيشون في هونغ كونغ

تفرض الولايات المتحدة نفس الالتزامات على مواطنيها والأجانب المقيمين في الخارج لتقديم ودفع ضرائب الدخل الفيدرالية الأمريكية ، كما تفعل على مواطنيها والمقيمين الذين يعيشون ويعملون في هونغ كونغ.

الاستثناءات - FEIE

كما هو الحال دائمًا ، هناك اختبارات معينة يجب عليك إجراؤها لتكون مؤهلاً للمطالبة بهذه الاستثناءات والائتمانات الخاصة.

إذا كنت تفي بمتطلبات IRC هذه ، فستتم المطالبة بـ FEIE في النموذج 2555 ، ويسمح لك باستبعاد "الدخل المكتسب الأجنبي(FEI) من ضرائب الدخل الفيدرالية الأمريكية. FEI هو في الأساس دخل مدفوع الأجر أو العمل الحر الذي تكسبه أثناء إقامتك وإقامتك في هونغ كونغ / خارج الولايات المتحدة

للتأهل لأخذ FEIE ، عليك أن:

  • تلبية "اختبار ضريبة المنزل" ، (THT) و
  • قابل إما:
    • "اختبار الإقامة بحسن نية" (BFR) ، أو
    • "اختبار الوجود المادي" (PPT).

بشكل عام ، هذا يعني أنه بناءً على الحقائق والظروف ، يجب عليك بالفعل العيش و / أو العمل في هونغ كونغ وتلبية متطلبات محددة معينة. إذا كنت مؤهلاً للحصول على FEIE ، فهو ليس غير محدود. تحدد IRS المبالغ المفهرسة سنويًا إلى أي مدى يمكنك استبعادها.

الاستثناءات - HE و HD

بصفتك مغتربًا أمريكيًا يعيش في هونغ كونغ ، قد تكون مؤهلاً أيضًا للحصول على:

  • "استبعاد السكن" (HE) إذا كان يعمل أو
  • "خصم السكن" (HD) إذا كنت تعمل لحسابك الخاص.

يبلغ قطر كلاً من آليات الإسكان المشار إليها أعلاه تسمح للمغتربين الأمريكيين باستبعاد FEI الإضافي من ضرائب الدخل الفيدرالية الأمريكية في إشارة إلى مصاريف الإسكان الفعلية ، المؤهلة ، الأجنبية ، التي يدفعها أنفسهم أو من قبل أرباب العمل إما بشكل مباشر أو عن طريق السداد في هونغ كونغ.

يمكن أن تشمل نفقات السكن الأجنبي المؤهل ، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، عناصر مثل هونغ كونغ:

  • تأجير،
  • القيمة السوقية العادلة لصاحب العمل المقدم السكن ،
  • تأجير الأثاث و
  • نفقات المعيشة المؤقتة.
  • ضرائب العقارات / الممتلكات
  • الخ ...

ومع ذلك ، للحصول على HE أو HD ، يجب أن تكون مؤهلاً أولاً لأخذ FEIE ، وتضع مصلحة الضرائب حدودًا سنوية - قاعدة أساسية أو قاعدة سكنية / أو قابلة للخصم ورأسًا - على أي من استثناءات الإسكان أو الخصومات ، والتي هي تحدد بالرجوع إلى FEIE نفسها. 

البلدان ذات معدل ضريبة الدخل المنخفض ، أقل من مثيله في الولايات المتحدة

مع متوسط ​​معدل ضريبة الدخل في هونج كونج عند 15-20 ٪ ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار أنه وفقًا لقيود لجنة التجارة الفيدرالية الأمريكية ، ستنتهي دائمًا بدفع أعلى ضرائب الدخل في البلدين ، ولا شك عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمغتربين الأمريكيين الذين يعيشون / يعملون في هونج كونج FEIE ، HE و HD تأخذ دورًا حاسمًا إضافيًا.

كلما كان ذلك ممكنًا ، من الأفضل دائمًا أن يعمل المغتربون في الولايات المتحدة ويعيشون في هونج كونج وهي دولة ذات دخل منخفض من الضرائب لمحاولة تعظيم الاستثناءات - FEIE و HE و HD قبل استخدام FTC الأمريكية ، وإلا فلا شك أنك ستنتهي دائمًا بدفع أعلى من ضريبتي الدخل التي هي بالطبع الولايات المتحدة

على هذا النحو فمن الأهمية بمكان أن مفاهيم مثل أيام شرائح PPT ، ومصادر الدخل المكتسب من الخارج والولايات المتحدة ، وخصم وسقف HE و HD يجب أن تؤخذ في الاعتبار بشكل كامل نظرًا لهذه المعضلة ، مثل الفرق بين CPA الذي يفهم ويفعل في هذا اليوم بعد يوم واتفاق CPA أو حتى أسوأ من ذلك ، يمكن لمعد ضرائب غير مرخص أن يؤدي إلى وفورات ضريبية في الولايات المتحدة تصل إلى عشرات الآلاف من الدولارات نتيجة لاتخاذ خيارات معد الضرائب الصحيحة.

نموذج 8938 FFA

عدم نسيان أو تهميش حقيقة أن جميع الأشخاص الأمريكيين يجب أن يفكروا في التزامهم سنويًا بتقديم نموذج 8938 بيان الأصول المالية الأجنبية المحددة (FFA) ، حقيقة أنه إذا طُلب منك تقديم نموذجي FBAR و FFA كوافد أمريكي يعيش و / أو العمل في هونغ كونغ ، يجب أن تتم مزامنة المبالغ في كلا النموذجين وتحمل عقوبة انتهاك غير متعمدة محيرة للعقل بقيمة 10,000 دولار لكل FFA سنويًا.

الخط السفلي

نظرًا لأن هونج كونج تحدد ضرائب الدخل على الدخل بمعدلات أقل بكثير من الولايات المتحدة ، إذا تم الامتثال لضريبة الدخل الأمريكية بشكل صحيح ، على افتراض عدم وجود مصدر دخل أمريكي - لا دخل أمريكي سلبي ولا أيام عمل أمريكية - إذا كان تحسين FEIE ، لم يتم تنفيذ HE و / أو HD بشكل صحيح ، وسيكون لذلك تأثير كبير على التزام ضريبة الدخل في الولايات المتحدة لأن لجنة التجارة الفيدرالية مهمشة للغاية! إذا كان دخلك الأجنبي أعلى من الاستثناءات المجمعة ، فسيتعين عليك دائمًا دفع أي ضرائب دخل فدرالية أمريكية إضافية على الدخل الذي كسبته في هونغ كونغ.

ومع ذلك ، كما ترى ، فإن القواعد معقدة ، ومن السهل أن تثقل كاهلك إذا لم تقم بتعيين المتخصصين المناسبين في الولايات المتحدة للمغتربين CPA.

في Protax ، هدفنا الأساسي وهدفنا هو تحليل التفاعل بين FEIE و HD و HE و FTC للعثور على الإستراتيجية المثلى للحد من الضرائب التي تدفعها في جميع أنحاء العالم. بينما تتأكد بالطبع في نفس الوقت من امتثالك التام للضرائب الأمريكية.

بروتاكس هي شركة ضرائب دولية فردية رائدة في العالم ، متخصصة في تقديم خدمات احترافية عالمية المستوى للمغتربين في الولايات المتحدة. لمزيد من المعلومات ، املأ نموذج الاتصال الخاص بنا للتحدث إلى أحد مستشاري الضرائب الخبراء لدينا.

عضو ومميز بكلية

عضو ومميز بكلية

desktop

U.S. EXPATRIATE TAXES IN HONG KONG

U.S. Federal Income Tax Obligations For U.S. Expatriates Living/ Working in Hong Kong)

The Basics – Hong Kong

Hong Kong officially the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China (HKSAR), is a metropolitan area and special administrative region of the People’s Republic of China on the eastern Pearl River Delta of the South China Sea.

Hong Kong became a colony of the British Empire after the Qing Empire ceded Hong Kong Island at the end of the First Opium War in 1842. The colony expanded to the Kowloon Peninsula in 1860 after the Second Opium War and was further extended when Britain obtained a 99-year lease of the New Territories in 1898. In a rather uncertain moment in history, the entire territory was transferred back to what is now China in 1997.

Effective 1997, a special administrative region, Hong Kong maintains separate governing and economic systems from that of mainland China under the principle of “one country, two systems”.

With the recent pro-democracy movement taking shape in Hong Kong in 2019, and the Chinese pushback through the controversial Chinese legislature national security law approved May 28, 2020 Hong Kong’s rubber stamped parliament the NPC or National People’s Congress approved the resolution which bans succession, subversion of state power, terrorism, foreign intervention and allows mainland China’s state security agencies to operate within Hong Kong.

Effectively, Hong Kong is now completely and entirely under Chinese control, and the one country, two systems concept is dead. This has had a devastating effect on Hong Kong’s tourism and finance system. In addition, of course Hong Kong’s world standing and foreign affairs have been severely diminished, with major democratic countries and companies realizing the challenges for Hong Kong ahead in the future, sadly many people and businesses have begun the pullout from Hong Kong.

Prior to China asserting control, the Hong Kong most remembered was one of the world’s most significant financial centers and commercial ports. It is the world’s tenth-largest exporter and ninth-largest importer. Hong Kong has a major capitalist service economy characterized by low taxation and free trade, and its currency, the Hong Kong dollar, is the eighth most traded currency in the world. Hong Kong is home to the second-highest number of billionaires of any city in the world, the highest number of billionaires of any city in Asia, and the largest concentration of ultra high-net-worth individuals of any city in the world Although the city has one of the highest per capita incomes in the world, severe income inequality exists among its residents, now only to be exasperated by the flight of the wealthy.

The U.S. and Hong Kong. share English as a common languages with Hong Kong’s speaking officially Chinese and English. Hong Kong is a highly developed territory and ranks fourth on the UN Human Development Index. The city has the largest number of skyscrapers of any city in the world, and its residents have some of the highest life expectancies in the world. The dense space led to a developed transportation network with public transport rates exceeding 90 percent. Hong Kong is ranked 5th in the Global Financial Centers Index and is ranked 3rd in Asia after Shanghai and Tokyo.

Hong Kong comprises a total area of 1,064 sq miles is the 168th largest country in the world by area, has a population of 7,500,700 people and a GDP of 439,459 billion U.S. dollars. The Hong Kong currency is the is the Hong Kong dollar, the Hong Kong time zone is +8 UTC, Hong Kong’s country telephone dialing code is +852, it’s internet TLD is “.hk” and it operates on a 232 volt electrical grid.

Once upon a time The U.S. and Hong Kong shared a very robust love for capitalism and democracy, with this coming tumbling down Hong Kong is no longer the U.S. Expats dream foreign assignment location to reside and work. As a U.S. citizen or resident alien (U.S. Expat) living in Hong Kong, however, there is always the possibility of “double income taxation,” i.e., having to pay taxes to both Hong Kong and the U.S. on the same income you earned in Hong Kong. The good news is that there are rules in place to avoid double taxation.

Knowing your obligations as a U.S. Expat are important. The Internal Revenue Code’s (IRC) rules are, however, quite complex, and while this is a simplified, broad overview to familiarize you with your filing obligations and how to avoid double taxation, you should consult a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) expert in U.S. Expat income taxation to learn more. U.S. Expat income taxes are a highly complex niche area of taxation that most CPA’s are not aware of.

U.S. Tax Obligations on U.S. Expats Living in Hong Kong

The U.S. imposes the same obligations on its citizens and resident aliens living abroad to file and pay U.S. federal income taxes, as it does on its citizens and residents living and working in Hong Kong.

The Exclusions – FEIE

As always, there are certain tests you must meet to be eligible to claim these special exclusions and credits.

If you meet these IRC requirements, the FEIE is claimed on Form 2555, and allows you to exclude “Foreign Earned Income” (FEI) from U.S. Federal income taxes. FEI is essentially wage or self-employment income that you earn while living and residing in Hong Kong/ outside the U.S.

To qualify to take the FEIE you have to:

  • Meet the “Tax Home Test”, (THT) and
  • Meet either the:
    • “Bona fide Residence Test” (BFR), or the
    • “Physical Presence Test” (PPT).

Generally, this means that on a facts and circumstance basis you actually must live and/or work in Hong Kong and meet certain specific requirements.  If you do qualify for the FEIE, it is not unlimited.  The IRS sets annually indexed amounts as to how much you can exclude.

The Exclusions – HE and HD

As a U.S. Expat living in Hong Kong, you may also qualify for the:

  • “Housing Exclusion” (HE) if employed or
  • “Housing Deduction” (HD) if self-employed.

Both Housing mechanisms referred to above allow U.S. Expats to exclude additional FEI from their U.S. Federal income taxation in reference to actual, qualified, foreign, housing expenses paid for by themselves or by their employers either directly or by reimbursement in Hong Kong.

Qualified foreign housing expenses can include, but are not limited to such items such as Hong Kong:

  • Rent,
  • The fair market value of employer provided housing,
  • Furniture rental, and
  • Temporary living expenses.
  • Real estate/ property taxes
  • Etc…

However, to take either the HE or the HD you must first be qualified to take the FEIE, and the IRS sets annual limits- a base or housing Norm/ or Deductible and a Cap- on either of the Housing Exclusions or Deductions, which are determined in reference to the FEIE itself. 

Countries with a Low-Income Tax Rate, Below that of the U.S.

With the HK average income tax rate set at 15-20%, considering that as above according to the U.S. FTC limitation you will always end up paying the higher of the two countries income taxes, no doubt when it comes to the U.S. Expat living/ working in HK the FEIE, HE and HD take on an added critical role.

Whenever able it is always preferable where the U.S. Expat works and lives in HK a lower income tax country to try and maximize the Exclusions- the FEIE, HE and HD prior to using the U.S. FTC, otherwise no doubt always you will end up paying the higher of the two income taxes that is of course the U.S.

As such it is crucial that concepts like the PPT slide days, sourcing of foreign and U.S. earned income, and the HE and HD cap deductibles and caps should always be fully considered given this dilemma, as such the difference between a CPA who understands and does this day in and day out and a CPA or yet worse a non-licensed tax preparer can result in U.S. tax savings of many tens of thousands of dollars as a result of making the correct tax preparer choices.

Form 8938 FFA

Not to forget or marginalize the fact that all U.S. persons must consider their obligation annually to file Form 8938 Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets (FFA) , the fact that if you are required to file both the FBAR and FFA Forms as a U.S. Expat living and/ or working in Hong Kong the amounts on both forms  must sync and carry a mind boggling non-willful violation penalty of $10,000 per FFA per annum.

The Bottom Line

Because Hong Kong sets income taxes on income at much lower rates than the U.S., if the U.S. income tax compliance is done correctly, in general assuming no U.S. source income- no U.S. passive income and no U.S. workdays- if the optimization of the FEIE, HE and/ or HD is not done correctly this will have a significant impact on your U.S. income tax liability since the FTC is so marginalized! If your foreign earned income is above the combined exclusions, you will always have to pay any additional U.S. Federal Income taxes on income you earned in Hong Kong.

As you can see, however, the rules are complex, and it is easy to get overburdened if you do not hire the correct CPA firm U.S. Expat specialists.

At Protax, our primary goal and objective is to analyze the interplay of the FEIE, HD, HE and FTC to find the optimum strategy to limit the world-wide taxes you pay. While of course at the same time making sure that you are in full U.S. tax compliance.

Protax is the world’s leading U.S. individual international tax firm, specializing in the delivery of world class professional services to U.S. Expats. For more information, fill out our contact form to speak to one of our expert tax consultants.

Member and Featured Faculty of

Member and Featured Faculty of